MPBA Results Item Fast Electrics

MODEL POWER BOAT ASSOCIATION

UK Fast Electric Nationals 2003

UK 2003 Fast Electrics Nationals Billing Aquadrome Northampton $26^{th} - 27th \ July \ 2003Race \ Report$

Introduction

Following the success of the first UK national's in 2002 the MPBA Fast Electric section decided for this year's national's to move the event to a more central location that would still support the facilitates needed for the event such as camping, a large lake and provided easier access for competitors from both the south and north of the country.

This is the first time we have used this venue for Fast Electric racing, although the event has been used by the multi guys on a number of occasions in the past. As you can see from the picture above, the size of the lake allowed us to set out a full Naviga course without having to worry about the risk of boats running wide and hitting the bank.

Well despite the rain in the evenings, the rain managed to stay off for the 2 day event and we had 53 boats running in all but 2 race classes. Unfortunately Hydro 1 and Mono 2 Open classes had only 1 boat entered in each class. Competitors came from Electra, NFERC and SWAMBC respectively and provided some keen racing with a number of class winners being separated by only a few seconds...

Before I list the results I would like to thank all those who attended and helped out with race duties and in particular to Sue and Jenny for ordering us about (immediately) and John Ives from the Northampton Club for manning the rescue boat during the weekend.

Race Results

The results below have been taken from the race sheet records.

Eco Standard							
Competitor	1 st Heat	2 nd Heat	3 rd Heat	Total	Position		
Nick Rees	14 (DNF)	36 (6sec)	37 (8sec)	73	1		
				(14sec)			
Steve Rayner	36 (15sec)	37 (7sec)	34 (9sec)	73 (32sec)	2		
Andy Hassan	33 (14sec)	34 (1sec)	35 (6sec)	69 (7sec)	3		

Graham Cornford	34 (14sec)	33 (6sec)	34	68	4
			(20sec)	(34sec)	

Eco Expert							
Competitor	1 st Heat	2 nd Heat	3 rd Heat	Total	Position		
Roger Cumbers	35 (11sec)	3 (DNF)	33	68	1		
			(14sec)	(24sec)			
Stephen Hart	34 (18sec)	32	32 (3sec)	66	2		
		(10sec)		(13sec)			
Graham Cornford	35 (10sec)	29 (1sec)	6 (DNF)	64	3		
				(11sec)			
Nick Rees	29 (DNF)	15 (DNF)	33 (4sec)	62 (4sec)	4		
Steve Rayner	5 (DNF)	31 (5sec)	27 (9sec)	58	5		
				(14sec)			
Tim Watson	28 (26sec)	28	24 (8sec)	56	6		
		(13sec)		(39sec)			
Bob Yates	3 (DNF)	30	13 (DNF)	43	7		
		(12sec)		(12sec)			

Eco Team								
Competitor	Total	Position						
Team Electra	96	1						
	(10sec)							
Team Graham	94 (3sec)	2						
Team Jordan	75 (4sec)	3						

Formula 1							
Competitor	1 st Heat	2 nd Heat	3 rd Heat	Total	Position		
Nick Rees	18 (15sec)	14	18	36	1		
		(10sec)	(17sec)	(32sec)			
Roger Cumbers	14 (14sec)	15	15	30	2		
		(26sec)	(11sec)	(37sec)			
Grahams Cornford	0 (DNF)	0 (DNF)	0 (DNF)	0	_		

Formula 2							
Competitor	1 st Heat	2 nd Heat	3 rd Heat	Total	Position		
Paul Severs	16 (5sec)	15	14	31 (5sec)	1		
Nick Rees	15 (12sec)	16 (5sec)	8 (DNF)	31	2		
				(17sec)			
Paul Rayner	0 (DNF)	0 (DNF)	0 (DNF)	0	-		

		Formula 3	3		
Competitor	1 st Heat	2 nd Heat	3 rd Heat	Total	Position

Nick Rees	16 (23sec)	5 (DNF)	15	31	1
			(22sec)	(45sec)	
Ian Severs	14 (13sec)	14	15	29	2
		(12sec)	(15sec)	(27sec)	
Graham Cornford	14 (14sec)	14	14	28	3
		(16sec)	(10sec)	(24sec)	
Roger Cumbers	12 (17sec)	13	13	26	4
		(21sec)	(24sec)	(45sec)	
George Roberts	9 (16sec)	13	13	26	5
-		(30sec)	(20sec)	(50sec)	

Formula 400							
Competitor	1 st Heat	2 nd Heat	3 rd Heat	Total	Position		
Tom Watson	19 (8sec)	19 (1sec)	23	42	1		
			(10sec)	(11sec)			
Ian Phillips	18 (11sec)	18 (8sec)	21	39	2		
	, ,		(14sec)	(22sec)			
Roger Cumbers	18 (11sec)	19	20	39	3		
-		(11sec)	(13sec)	(24sec)			
Ian Williams	17 (3sec)	18 (DNF)	20 (8sec)	38 (8sec)	4		
George Roberts	4 (DNF)	16	17	33	5		
_		(37sec)	(21sec)	(58sec)			

Mono 1							
Competitor	1 st Heat	2 nd Heat	3 rd Heat	Total	Position		
Ken Brown	18 (13sec)	18	11 (3sec)	36	1		
		(14sec)		(27sec)			
Paul Heaton	18 (4sec)	17	17	35 (4sec)	2		
		(12sec)					
Trevor Goodiness	18 (5sec)	17 (9sec)	17	35	3		
			(24sec)	(11sec)			
Ian Phillips	16 (12sec)	7 (18sec)	18	34	4		
			(22sec)	(34sec)			
Paul Severs	16 (35sec)	11	15	31	5		
				(35sec)			
Stu Brown	7	14	11 (5sec)	25	6		
		(27sec)		(32sec)			
Ian Williams	11 (19sec)	13	11	24	7		
				(10sec)			

	Mono 2 (Restricted)							
Competitor	1 st Heat	2 nd Heat	3 rd Heat	Total	Position			
Paul Heaton	17 (10sec)	18 (20sec)	1 (DNF)	35 (30sec)	1			
Trevor Goodinson	16 (10sec)	17 (18sec)	5 (DNF)	33 (28sec)	2			
Roy Davies	0 (DNF)	11 (12sec)	15 (sec)	26 (19sec)	3			
Tom Watson	14 (12sec)	2 (20sec)	12 (12sec)	26 (24sec)	4			
Ken Brown	0 (DNF)	14 (13sec)	9	25 (13sec)	5			
Ian Williams	5 (DNF)	0 (DNF)	14	19	6			

			(10sec)	(10sec)	
John Gould	7 (DNF)	0 (DNF)	1	8	7

Mono 3 (Off-Shore)							
Competitor	1 st Heat	2 nd Heat	3 rd Heat	Total	Position		
Ian Phillips	21 (15sec)	19	21 (6sec)	42	1		
•		(13sec)		(21sec)			
Paul Heaton	19 (14sec)	20	16 (DNF)	39	2		
		(11sec)		(25sec)			
Dave Baker	11 (DNF)	20	19	39	3		
		(15sec)	(10sec)	(25sec)			
Eugene Beirne	17 (14sec)	17	14 (DNF)	34	4		
				(14sec)			
John Gould	3 (DNF)	14 (5sec)	14 (4sec)	28 (9sec)	5		

Hydro 2							
Competitor	1 st Heat	2 nd Heat	3 rd Heat	Total	Position		
Dave Baker	16 (8sec)	15 (7sec)	13	30	1		
			(10sec)	(15sec)			
Ian Severs	15 (11sec)	14	3 (DNF)	29	2		
		(14sec)		(25sec)			
George Roberts	11 (7sec)	12	0 (DNF)	23	3		
		(27sec)		(24sec)			
Claire Billington	6 (9sec)	13	10 (DNF)	23	4		
		(48sec)		(48sec)			
Ian Williams	12	0 (DNF)	0 (DNF)	12	5		
John Newton	12	0 (DNF)	0 (DNF)	12	6		